Leading Access to HealthTech

Chief Innovation Officers

As our work with the Nuffield Trust taught us, a persistent barrier to innovation uptake is the responsibility of ownership.

Innovation is nobody’s job.

NHS Trust Boards see regular metrics on finance and performance, quality and safety, and workforce, with Executive Directors responsible for these important areas. As part of their “Well Led” inspection framework, NHS organisations are required to have robust systems and processes in place for learning, continuous improvement and innovation. But, with few exceptions, nobody at a Board level holds this portfolio.

Until this is actively built into a senior job description, it is unlikely to become business as usual.

This is why ABHI is calling on every NHS organisation to appoint a dedicated Chief Innovation Officer whose role will enable hospitals to deliver efficiencies whilst adopting life changing HealthTech.

As part of each hospital Board, Chief Innovation Officers can make a fundamental difference to the NHS, whilst ensuring maximum value to the taxpayer.

To find out more, contact eleanor.charsley@abhi.org.uk

Useful Resources

The following parliamentarians have committed to the campaign:

  • Steve McCabe
  • Virendra Sharma
  • Lord O’Shaughnessy
  • Sir Graham Brady
  • Baroness Masham
  • Derek Thomas
  • Vicky Ford
  • Dr James Davies
  • Taiwo Owatemi
  • Munira Wilson
  • Gavin Newlands
  • Sir Mike Penning
  • Philip Dunne
  • Lord Reid
  • Paul Bristow
  • Daniel Zeichner
  • Lord Bethell
  • Baroness Finlay
  • Anne Marie Morris 
  • Mark Eastwood 
  • Viscount Hanworth
  • Lisa Cameron 
  • Henry Smith 
  • Greg Smith 
  • Matt Hancock